Hair Magic! Bringing Thin Limp Hair Back To Life


It has been a while since my last hair loss post, if you haven’t already read them check out Where’s My Crowning Glory and Hairloss, Heartaches and Headaches.

Until I started my blog and declared to the world that I was in fact suffering from hair loss, only a select few people knew about my condition. Even after going public, people would come up to me and say ‘You would never have been able to tell’ and I’ve always said I am a magician. Today I want to share with you my secrets to hiding those pesky bald patches to give the illusion of a full head of hair.

These products have without a shadow of a doubt transformed my life since discovering them six months ago. I call it my hair magic, but their actual names are JK’s Concealer for thinning hair and JK’s Hair Building Fibers from JK Hair Replacement.

You can pick up yours at JK Hair Replacement which is situated in Glasnevin, Dublin 9 or order it online here. They also have a whole range of hair care products for wigs and thinning hair from Shampoo and Conditioner to wig tape and even styling products.

JK Concealer for Thinning Hair

The concealer comes in four shades Black, Light Brown, Medium Brown and Dark Brown. I personally use the shade dark brown as it matches my existing hair quite well. It costs €35 and lasts me 4-5 months.

JK’s Concealer for thinning hair €35 – Dark Brown

The product is like a compact bronzer and applies in much the same way. Using a sponge you rub it into the product then apply to the scalp in the desired areas in a dabbing or rubbing motion and voilà the patches are gone. The product also has thickening properties, meaning after application your hair has a little extra oomph which is an added bonus.

Another fantastic plus is that the concealer is waterproof. Yes that means that you can apply it to your scalp and go swimming, like everyone else.

Something so small as swimming now gives me such anxiety that I completely refrain from it. It is one of many issues and habits that have developed due to my fallen locks, but more on this later. I used to adore swimming and being in the water in general, unfortunately it is a pastime I have had to give up since my hair loss began. I like to describe my appearance when wet as a drowned rat, harsh and self-deprecating I know, but this is when  my hair loss is at its clearest. There is no way to hide it.

Until now.

I am so ecstatic to say that on my recent trip to Orlando I went to the waterparks, was in the pool and EVEN swam under water. JK’s concealer allowed me to behave like every normal person, fooling about in the pool and going on death defying slides without a care in the world. Well… I did panic a lot about my hair, but my OH and sisters were very supportive and understanding, checking for my bald patches and reassuring me that my scalp wasn’t visible.

Even if you aren’t suffering from thinning hair or hair loss this product can be used to tidy up your own hair line. It’s a trick the Kardashians use when going for the sleek ponytail look.

*I haven’t found another product similar to this online, but have links to the site throughout the post and at the end of the post

JK Keratin Hair Building Fibers

JK Hair Building Fibers
JK Hair Building Fibers €30. Photo courtesy of JKHairReplacement.ie

The Keratin Hair Building Fibers add instant volume and act as real hair fibers once applied. Keratin is a fibrous structural protein found in hair. The fibers attach to your existing hair and scalp making the root of the hair swell to give the appearance of thicker hair. Also the fibers combined with the concealer create the appearance of actual follicles of hair in areas where hair may be non-existent.

It is available in seven different shades, Black, Light Blonde, Blonde, Light Brown, Medium Brown, Dark Brown and Grey. It costs €30 and lasts between 4-6 weeks, depending on how heavy-handed you are with the product.

It is quick and easy to use, you just shake the fibers onto the desired area and you are good to go. JK has a fixing spray that holds the fibers in place, or you can also use hair spray. I would recommend the using hairspray or the fixing spray because I have had some mishaps with pillows!

*Other brands are available, Boots.ie have a range of hair fibers available online and in shops as well as local pharmacies

******     ******     ******      ******     ******

These products have given me some of my confidence back, allowed me to face fears that have developed because of my hair loss and more importantly let me do something that I haven’t in almost ten years, swim.

I don’t have to backcomb my hair within an inch of its already short life or use a bottle of hair spray on it before leaving the house (that was just a fire hazard). I can stand in the wind with my hair down without a care in the world.

OK I still panic when a strand moves and have to slip off to the bathrooms to check the back of my hair, but old habits die hard.

It is a quick fix and will not bring back your hair BUT it will give you a piece of yourself back. It did for me!

In previous posts I have described how hair loss can crush your confidence, debilitate you and strip you of your identity, no matter how severe the case. For now with the use of these products all the pain that goes along with losing your hair has been eased, somewhat. I feel more confident in wearing my hair down in any situation and I haven’t cried over my lost locks, that much, since using the JK concealer for thinning hair and hair fibers combined.

For now I will most certainly take that. A step forward is always better than a step backwards.

AJ Xx

JK Concealer for Thinning Hair

JK Keratin Hair  Building Fibers

 

7 thoughts on “Hair Magic! Bringing Thin Limp Hair Back To Life

  1. Hi Aoife, after watching you on the rose of tralee I had to let you know how much you have relaxed myou anxious mind. You are inspiring to all of us who are embarrassed and afraid to speak to anyone but you will have encouraged many tonight. I wish you the very best in everything you do.
    Caroline x

    Like

    1. Hi Caroline, that is absolutely incredible to hear. Your kind words have genuinely touched my heart, you have me welling up. I’m so glad that by sharing my experience it has helped even one person x❣

      Like

  2. Hi Aoife,
    This is my first year in about 15 watching The Rose of Tralee and I am so glad I did! I have PCOS and have been dealing with thinning hair for 16 years. I have only discover the hair fibres in the last year and now use clip in extensions in a pony tail to help me feel normal. After watching you on the show I just wanted to say thank you for speaking so openly and honestly about such a difficult issue. Having read your blog I’ve just ordered the concealer and I cannot wait to try it as I’d love to get proper extensions and feel like myself again! Thank you Aoife and good luck in the competition!

    Like

Leave a comment